Why is the united states flag red white and blue?

According to Time.com: The simplest reason is that red, white, and blue are the colors of Great Britain's Union Jack, but these colors have deeper meanings as well. Red stands for hardiness and valor, white represents purity and innocence, and blue signifies vigilance, perseverance, and valor.