How do you open a mango steen?

Remove the top leaves and stem from the top of the fruit. Press in on the top of the fruit. Squeeze on the sides until the purple shell cracks. Make a shallow, horizontal cut around the shell if it's tough. Eat the white flesh inside of the fruit.