How long should a turkey sit before you carpet?

Ideally, your turkey should rest 30 to 40 minutes to let the juices redistribute, before carving. (This gives you enough time to make gravy, too.) We usually recommend that the turkey get back into the refrigerator within 2 hours, so by the time you carve and serve, that timeframe works pretty well.