How often do you water tomato plant?

Early in the growing season, tomato plants should be watered daily in the morning. As temperatures increase, tomato plants will need to be watered twice a day. Garden tomatoes typically require 1-2 inches of water a week. Tomato plants grown in containers need more water than garden tomatoes.