What is the biggest trout ever caught?

The world record brown trout caught on a rod and reel was 42 pounds and 1 ounce caught by New Zealand fisher Otwin Kandolf.

---

It measured 45 inches long, 32 inches in girth and weighed 52.3 pounds on a hand-held scale. The official world record for caught ice-fished lake trout is 40 pounds.