What are medic chlorines?

In the Star Wars universe Midi-chlorians are fictional microscopic, intelligent lifeforms that live within the cells of all living beings. The Force spoke through the midi-chlorians, allowing certain beings to use the Force if they were sensitive enough to its powers.