What's lake gitche gumee?

Gichigami or Gitche Gumee (from Longfellow's 'The Song of Hiawatha) means 'big water'. The lake was named le lac supérieur, or "Upper Lake," in the 17th century by French explorers because it was located above Lake Huron. It is now generally known as Lake Superior.