When was california established as a state?

In 1848, gold was discovered at Sutter's Mill in California. In 1849, Californians sought statehood and, after much debate in Congress around the slavery issue, California entered the Union as a free, nonslavery state by the Compromise of 1850. California became the 31st state on September 9, 1850.