Does pear seeds have iodine?

While the seeds of apples and pears may contain trace amounts of iodine, they also contain a naturally occurring toxin, amygdalin. When eaten, this toxin can react with stomach enzymes and release a poison in the gut. Therefore, people should avoid eating these seeds.