How does trees make air?

Trees release oxygen when they use energy from sunlight to make glucose from carbon dioxide and water. Like all plants, trees also use oxygen when they split glucose back down to release energy to power their metabolisms. ... That works out to a total of about 740kg of oxygen per year.