Is avatar japanese?

Avatar clearly follows the style of Japanese animation productions in art, character and story design. In the West, most people say it's not an anime, because it's a question of origin. ... No. Anime is hand-drawn or computer animation originating from or associated with Japan, which Avatar is not.