What is quinoa rice?

Quinoa may be the most widely recognizable of the so-called "ancient grains." Quinoa acts like a whole grain, but it is actually a seed from a weed-like plant called goosefoot, which is closely related to beets and spinach. Whole grain quinoa can be prepared like brown rice or barley.