How fast in miles per hour is the speed of sound?

The speed of sound in the air is about 767 miles per hour at 68 degrees Fahrenheit. The speed of sound is proportional to the square root of the absolute temperature, and it varies with the composition of the air: for example, humid air has a slightly higher speed of sound than does dry air.

---

If we consider the atmosphere on a standard day at sea level with static conditions, the speed of sound is about 761 mph, or 1100 feet/second.