Who has the highest batting average of all time?

As of 2019, Outfielder Ty Cobb, whose career ended in 1928, has the highest batting average in Major League Baseball (MLB) history. His batting average was: 366.36. Next highest was: Rogers Hornsby with a batting average of 358.50.