When does the moon turn orange?

During lunar eclipses, the moon often appears orange. This is usually caused by dust and smoke in the Earth's atmosphere. As the moon passes through Earth's shadow, it is illuminated mainly by sunlight passing through our atmosphere. If there is lots of dust and smoke, this light becomes orange.