Who is serrano de bergerac?

He is a character in a fictional story who loves roxanne. He is too ugly to show himself. His friend also likes roxanne but cannot find the words to express himself. Cerrano agrees to help secretly give his friend what become the most beautiful words to express love of a beautiful woman.