How many people survived the donner party?

Of the 81 pioneers who began the Donner Party's horrific winter in the Sierra Nevada, only 45 managed to walk out alive. The ordeal proved particularly costly for the group's 15 solo travelers, all but two of whom died, but it also took a tragic toll on the families.