Who was the first american ace pilot?

Paul F. Bear

---

The first US air service victory did not come until March 11th, 1918, when Paul F. Baer of the 103rd Aerial Squadron shot down an Albatros near Cerney-les Reims. He was credited with his fifth victory on April 23rd making him the AEF's first Ace.