What are the stages of a caterpillar?

The caterpillar is one of the four phases in becoming a butterfly. Adult butterflies lay eggs, which is the first phase. From the eggs hatch caterpillars, which is the larva phase. Next is the Pupa phase where the caterpillar forms a chrysalis and leads to the final phase, an adult butterfly.