What is food grade diatomaceous earth?

Diatomaceous Earth (often referred to as D-E) is a powder that is the fossilized remains of marine phytoplankton, known as diatoms. It's in lots of grain based foods, because lots of grains are stored with D-E to keep the bugs from eating the grain. Food grade means that it is safe to consume.