How did civil war soldiers sleep?

At night, soldiers slept in pairs in small, canvas tents. On the ground, they might place a gum blanket. One side of the blanket is rubberized, designed to keep out moisture from the ground. The soldier would sleep on the other side, which was a canvas-like material.