How are french fries invented?

France and Belgium have an ongoing dispute about where fries were invented. Both countries claim ownership. Belgian journalist Jo Gérard claims a 1781 family manuscript recounts that potatoes were deep-fried prior to 1680 in the Meuse valley, in what was the Spanish Netherlands (present-day Belgium)