How do you pick a sweet watermelon?

Big or small, the watermelon should feel heavy for its size. Watermelons develop a splotch where they rest on the ground. When this splotch is creamy yellow, it's ripe. Tap the underbelly of the watermelon. A ripe one will have a deep hollow sound.