Why do people say bless you when somebody sneeze?

One of the symptoms of the plague was coughing and sneezing, and that Pope Gregory I (Gregory the Great) suggested saying “God bless you” after a person sneezed in hopes that this prayer would protect them from an otherwise certain death. The expression may have also originated from superstition.