How does a cat scratch?

Cats typically have 5 claws on their front paws, an 4 on their rear paws. Their paws have tendons that extend the claws from being almost-hidden within their toes, to fully extended to capture prey or defend themselves. If you are not the prey when this happens, as the threat, you get scratched.