What is the difference between t. h. a. n. and t. h. e. n.?

The word 'than' (spelled T-H-A-N) is used when making comparisons; while the word 'then' (spelled T-H-E-N) is used when relating to time. The word 'than' (spelled T-H-A-N) is the word to choose in phrases like smaller than, smoother than, and further than.

---

Than is used in comparisons like 10 is greater than 4. Then is used in time, or timing as in do this then do that. I waited for the bus then I got on.