What does h. e. b. grocery store stand for?

Howard Edward Butt, the son of the founder.

---

H. E. B. is the initials of Howard Edward Butt. It is a grocery store chain founded in 1905 when Florence Butt opened the C.C. Butt Grocery Store in Kerrville, Texas. In 1919, her youngest son took over the store upon his return from World War I and his initials later became the name of the store.