When were fidget toys invented?

In 1993, Catherine Hettinger, a chemical engineer by training, was the first person known to invent a spinning fidget toy. Hettinger’s toy was a disc with a dome in the center, unlike The Torqbars spinner from 2015 or the highly popular 3 prong Fidget Spinner released in 2016.