Why did they execute mussolini?

The death of Benito Mussolini, the deposed Italian fascist dictator, occurred on 28 April 1945 in the small village of Giulino di Mezzegra in northern Italy. He was executed because after his side lost the war, partisans took power in Italy & wanted him gone.