When does tornado season start?

Tornado season usually refers to the time of year the U.S. sees the most tornadoes. The peak “tornado season” for the Southern Plains is during May into early June. On the Gulf coast, it is earlier during the spring. In the northern plains and upper Midwest, tornado season is in June or July.

---

Tornado's can happen at any time of year. Southern states, the season is from March to May. In the Southern Plains, it lasts from May to early June. For the Gulf Coast, they are most often during the spring. In the Northern Plains, Northern states and upper Midwest, peak season is in June or July.