What does ebb mean?

The word ebb has a few definitions depending on context. It may mean to recede from a flood or the reflux of the tide toward the sea. It may also mean a condition of decline or to fall from a higher level to a lower level or from a better to a worse state.

---

the movement of the tide out to sea.