Why do wolves howl?

Howling may be heard at night, but it is not directed at the moon. It is used as a social rally call, an order to hunt or as a territorial expression. Did you know that individuals have different howls that can be heard by other wolves 6-7 mile away? A howl can help a lost wolf find its way home.