Does transparent aluminum exist?

'Transparent aluminum' previously only existed in science fiction, featuring in the movie Star Trek IV, but the real material is an exotic new state of matter with implications for planetary science and nuclear fusion. The aluminum is nearly invisible to extreme ultraviolet radiation.