How many years has serena williams played professional tennis?

Serena Williams became a professional tennis player in 1995, just after her 14th birthday – her first professional event was in October 1995 (her birthday is in September) at the Bell Challenge in Quebec. Her pro career has spanned over 27 years and she shows no signs of slowing down soon.

---

It has been 27 years since her debut in October of 1995.