What are legumes?

Legumes are the fruits or seeds of plants related to the family of plants beans and peas are in. This is called the Leguminosae family. Well-known legumes include beans, soybeans, peas, chickpeas, peanuts, lentils, lupins, mesquite, carob, tamarind, alfalfa, and clover.