What is the red dot indian people wear called?

The red dot worn by the people of India is called a Bindi. The name stems from the Sanskrit word bindu, which means drop or particle. Because of the many languages and dialects spoken throughout India, bindis are otherwise known by many other names, including kumkum, sindoor, teep, tikli and bottu.