Who made the root beer float?

Robert McCay Green invented it in 1874 during the Franklin Institute's semicentennial celebration. The story goes that on one hot day, he ran out of ice for the flavored drinks he sold and used vanilla ice cream from a neighboring vendor. However, 3 others claim to have invented it.

---

Frank J. Wisner, owner of Colorado’s Cripple Creek Brewing, is credited for the first root beer float in 1893. There are three other claimants for the root beer float. Fred Sanders, Philip Mohr and George Guy, Guy is said to have mistakenly mixed ice cream and soda in 1872,to his customer's delight.