What is the plum line?

A plumb, P L U M B, Line is usually a string with a weight, the plumb, at the bottom to keep the string taut, or a newer LASER device. The Plumb line at rest is straight up & down from where it is hung. It is used by folks to make sure walls, windows, doors, etc. are erected to meet correctly.