What was the first pokemon card ever created?

PIKACHU ILLUSTRATOR. One of the earliest cards to come out of the Pokemon franchise was this promotional card of Pikachu that was given out to winners of an illustration contest in 1998. An estimated 20 to 39 copies were issued.