Who was the first president to resign from office?

Richard Nixon is the first and only American President to resign from office. He resigned on August 9, 1974, and was succeeded as President by Gerald Ford. Interestingly, Spiro Agnew, Nixon's vice president, resigned from office on October 10, 1973.