What is uncured ham mean?

Ham with no nitrates, chemicals or additives. Cured meats use chemicals and additives while uncured meats rely on natural salts and flavorings. Cured meats have nitrates. Uncured don't. ... Many people are allergic to nitrates and nitrites so they would opt for the uncured meat or fish.