What is a blue lantern?

Blue Lantern Corps is a fictional organization appearing in American comic books published by DC Comics, beginning in 2007 in Green Lantern vol. 4 #25. Their powers, similar to those of other organizations based around the emotional spectrum, are fueled by the emotion of hope.