How fast is the sound barrier?

The sound barrier is the sudden increase of aerodynamic drag that an aircraft encounters when it approaches the speed of sound. This barrier prevented early aircraft from exceeding the speed of sound which is 767 mph in dry air at 68 degrees Fahrenheit.