Where does the saying close but no cigar come from?

This saying refers to a carnival game of strength, the Hiball or Hi-Striker, in which the contestant hits a lever with a sledgehammer, to try to drive a weight high enough up a column, to ring a bell at the top. ringing the bell would win a cigar, the phrase was often uttered If the bell wasn't rung