What are two independent clauses?

An independent clause is a simple sentence with a subject and a predicate and makes sense by itself. Two independent clauses can be joined using a semicolon or using a comma followed by a conjunction such as “and,” but, for, or, nor, so, or yet. For example, “I left the house, and they went away.”