How do hot snaps work?

The clicking of a disk within the pad triggers the precipitation of the sodium acetate crystals. When the crystals precipitate, it releases the energy that was required to initially dissolve it and stored in the pouch. The release of energy raises the temperature to a maximum temperature of 130F