What do you see around the sun during a total solar eclipse?

The corona is the outer atmosphere of the sun. It is made of tenuous gases and is normally hiding in plain sight, overwhelmed by the bright light of the sun's photosphere. When the moon blocks the sun's face during a total solar eclipse, the corona is revealed as a pearly-white halo around the sun.