When was the pledge of allegiance?

A modern version of the Pledge of Allegiance was written in 1892 by Francis Bellamy, but was modified multiple times before the current wording was adopted by Congress in 1954.

---

The original version of the American Pledge of Allegiance was written in 1892 by Francis Bellamy. It was revised in 1923 and again in 1954 into it's current form.