How do you know if tuna salad is bad?

Bacteria grow rapidly at temperatures between 40 °F and 140 °F; tuna salad should be discarded if left out for more than 2 hours at room temperature. If tuna salad develops an off odor, flavor or appearance, or if mold appears, it should be discarded; do not taste first.