Why are cats lazy?

Cats are lazy because it helps them conserve energy, meaning they have to eat less, and meaning when it's time for them to hunt they will have more energy to expend to successfully be able to snag their prey.

---

A cat is evolved from the African wild cat, a desert animal. As with all desert animals, cats conserve energy during the daytime and become more energetic at night. Although our house cats may not need to hunt, the instinct to sleep and prepare for the hunt carries on.